Good Extra Fine Fountain Pen For A New Timer

fallingleaves

Hello, I have recently been interested in fountain pens and wanted one, but with so many options i don't know what to pick. I usually use gel pens and have to use .38 pilots because my writing is extremely small. I am also a student who takes a lot of notes. So I was wondering what was a good fountain pen that writes well, is extra fine ( how does it compare to .38 gel pens?), looks nice (mainly the reason for the fountain pen along with the smooth writing haha), and is pretty cheap since this is my first time with a fountain pen (price range < 30ish)

Thanks! :D

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• fallingleaves

• Oranges and Apples

• casualmerlinconstant

• kidde

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi! Buy these two pens: Pilot Metropolitan and Pilot Penmanship.

Put the Penmanship's EF nib into the Pilot Metropolitan and you have all your requirements for under $30.

If you think the step on the section/barrel of the Pilot Metropolitan will bother you, spend about $20 more and get the Pilot Prera instead.

You may find a regular Japanes Fine nib to be fine enought, but Pilot's EF nib on the Penmanship is really the best EF for the money (about $7).

Hi! Buy these two pens: Pilot Metropolitan and Pilot Penmanship.

Put the Penmanship's EF nib into the Pilot Metropolitan and you have all your requirements for under $30.

If you think the step on the section/barrel of the Pilot Metropolitan will bother you, spend about $20 more and get the Pilot Prera instead.

You may find a regular Japanes Fine nib to be fine enought, but Pilot's EF nib on the Penmanship is really the best EF for the money (about $7).

Wow, thanks for the quick reply! This sounds like a great idea and the metropolitan is really nifty!