About To Get First Pelikan, Which Of My Inks Are Best?

Green Ink

Hello,

I'm fairly new to fountain pens. The pen I'm using now is my grandfather's from the 1920's, a Sheaffer radite flat top. It's great.

I've been saving up. I'm going to be getting a Pelikan, a brown tortoise 400NN, with a fine nib. Would you be kind enough to glance through my inks and tell me which ones will work well and not stain my pen?

Diamine Ancient Copper, Oxblood and Twilight

Levenger Cocoa

Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Green (vintage), 4001 Brilliant Black, 4001 Violet, 4001 Brilliant Brown

Waterman Absolute Brown, Inspired Blue, Harmonious Green

Parker Penman Emerald (vintage)

Many thanks in advance for your thoughts.

I'd be interested also in what ink is in your Pelikan right now.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Bo Bo Olson

• biancitwo

• DrCodfish

• Green Ink

IMHO, they all seem okay (ie not going to stain). But, to be on the safe side, avoid the highly saturated inks like Diamine etc. The Pelikan inks should work well with the pen because companies make it that way. For example, IIRC Pilot pens work the best with Iroshizuku inks

I have 2 Pelikan M200s atm, both inked with Noodler's Black :)

~Epic

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1348/557449480_2f02cc3cbb_m.jpg http://null.aleturo.com/Dumatborlon/Badges/5EH4/letter.png

A sincere man am I
From the land where palm trees grow,
And I want before I die
My soul's verses to bestow.

All those moments will be lost in time.
Like tears in rain.
Time to die.

In line with your name: the Pelikan Brilliant green. One can suppose it will be safe for a Pelikan pen. Buy a green striped Pel to go with it... (okay, the brown Tortoise is nicer...)

While the Parker Penman is a beautiful ink, be aware that these inks were reported to clog the feed easily. I have experienced that with Penman Mocha.

D.ick

~

KEEP SAFE, WEAR A MASK, KEEP A DISTANCE.

Freedom exists by virtue of self limitation.

~