Hello From North Carolina

Miss Cooley

Well here I am - a true sign that I'm a goner is when I join a forum. I am new to fps. I love to draw and have discovered that lovely inks are available to fp users.

My mom sent me an old AW Classic Impressions that writes beautifully with the old ink cartridge that came with it, but it's ugly as hell. A splotchy black and green body.

Somehow a gaudy Jinhao 3000 Tiger ended up on my Amazon wish list and my sister sent it to me. Writes like a dream. It glides on the paper without a sound - I really like that. But it is encased in metal and very heavy. Slightly difficult to hold. And ugly.

Meanwhile I ordered a Noodler's Ahab from Goulet Pens and some ink samples. The Ahab is a great pen as well except for the scratchiness on the paper, which is a minor complaint. Ink flow is just about perfect.

I'm loving these forums so far. Must research my next purchase of course. I'd like something sleek and whisper quiet. And then I'd like 10 of them, each with their own ink.... yeah....

Above all else, to thine own self be true.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Miss Cooley

• PAKMAN

• RMN

• lisadan

Welcome to the club!

If you like the way Jinhao 3000 writes, you might want to try the Jinhao 159. Similar design but made of plastic and thus lighter. I don't know much about drawing, but you may also try the Duke 209. You can get it with a special curved nib that is supposed to be better for drawing or calligraphy. Very good pen in my opinion. Both usually cost under $10 on eBay.

Dan

Welcome to the club!

If you like the way Jinhao 3000 writes, you might want to try the Jinhao 159. Similar design but made of plastic and thus lighter. I don't know much about drawing, but you may also try the Duke 209. You can get it with a special curved nib that is supposed to be better for drawing or calligraphy. Very good pen in my opinion. Both usually cost under $10 on eBay.