Need Help From The Experienced Experts

drewmey

Being an engineering student, I am normally a mechanical pencil guy. I am not a pen collector (yet ;)). However, I am in the market for a good, solid, metal pen that will last. So I decided to come to the pen experts to see if they had a recommendation for me.

What I want:

I will be needing a pen for more permanent work in my field (commercial construction) for signatures, proposals, and bids. I probably won't be using it for lengthy writing. I was going to get a Lamy Safari or even Al-Star. However, I had the opportunity to hold a Lamy Safari and was not happy with the weight or the fact that it was plastic (even though it was nice plastic). When I I write with mechanical pencils, I normally use a rotring 600, 800, or staedtler 925-25 to give you an idea of my taste. I would prefer a look more similar to those than a sleek, modern looking pen. I am hoping to spend <$50 but would increase my budget slightly if there was a great pen that I liked the look of. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• drewmey

• Joe in Seattle

• Uncle Red

• yogalarva

Parker IM? Made of metal, and quite cheap.

Tes rires retroussés comme à son bord la rose,

Effacent mon dépit de ta métamorphose;

Tu t'éveilles, alors le rêve est oublié.

-Jean Cocteau, from Plaint-Chant, 1923

A Levenger L-Tech, will feel a lot like a drafting pencil. Kaweco AL Sport or Special. Schrade Tactical Pen.

Rotring made ballpoints and fountain pens. I have both. They are built for the ages. The steel F nib on my Lava 600 is as smooth and reliable as a gold nib. Inquire here, or go to a reliable EBay seller.

"how do I know what I think until I write it down?"