Pilot Myu Not Flowing

smoothascactus

I just purchased a 1973 PILOT Myu 701 (Nib-F) however I'm unable to get the ink to flow for more than a few characters at a time. I found that if I cap the pen and store it nib down for 10 minutes I'm able to write about 5 characters before it dries up again.

The eBay listing said the pen was in working order so maybe it has to do with being shipped from Japan? The ink does appear to flow fairly well, but I'm not expert. I've ordered new ink which I should receive early next week to try out.

I'm new to vintage fountain pens so I'm hoping there is just some cleaning I need to do and it's user error on my part. I have tried cleaning it with water, however I have not been able to get any water to come out the nib of the pen even if I use an ear cleaner bulb syringe.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• smoothascactus

• Dr.Grace

• CS388

• shumanfu

First you need to cut it open like this....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/115495246@N05/12148952284/in/set-72157640305024165/player/

Jk.. sorry no idea.. try flushing it out a few times with ammonia&water solution or one of those pen flushy solution things. probably some shonky stuff on ur feed.

Always wanted a myu-701:) nice

Edited by shumanfu

Thanks for the cleaning suggestion. I have it soaking tonight and will take it to art store for US cleaning on Monday. I also ordered pilot ink cartridges so hopefully that will help.

It's a gorgeous pen and it's killing me that I can't use it yet!

That cut away photo is great!

If soaking in water doesn't work, you can try Rapido-eze, which is great for old dried-up ink.