Just Received My First Nakaya

PenPat

Just wanting to say hello to everyone in this community. I am relatively new to fountain pens, having discovered the joy of using them a month ago with a Lamy Safari. I saw pictures of the Nakaya piccolo and couldn't resist. I placed an order with nibs.com and received it today (I hope the iPhone picture I attached can be seen). It is a Midori writer, with fine nib. I make a lot of notes on documents, so decided on a fine nib. I love it! The pen also fits perfectly on my medium to large hands.

The "problem" is I also sign documents and letters on a daily basis and the fine nib is a little too thin for signatures. I will use my Lamy Safari Medium for that purpose for now, until I can get another nice pen with a medium nib. Thanks for reading!

post-110190-0-71033000-1390516781_thumb.jpg

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• PenPat

• flyshot

• trax

• mk2579

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Hi penpat...FYI Japanese nibs generally run a size finer than their European counterparts. If you want a Japanese nib equal in width to your Lamy medium you would want to order a Japanese broad.

Not to worry though, since you've already been bitten, you have many Nakaya's in your future.

Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

-Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Thank you for the replies. My handwriting needs much improvement (especially after seeing the examples you have in the forum!), so I am going to have to polish my handwriting before getting the courage to provide a writing sample!

I initially got into fountain pens for a practical reason. I have a hand injury and found writing with a fountain pen a big help, as it allows me to write with very light pressure. John Mottishaw adjusted the fine nib for medium wet flow and smooth writing, with very light pressure. Exactly what I received -- Thank you John!