Diamine: Midnight Or Majestic Blue And Why?

Darqest

I am a student who wants a dark blue to use on a regular basis. If I had to pick one or the other (not both, restricted financially), which one should I go for?

I will use it on cheap papers so they will not be the best quality. Also I would like it to be low maintenance!

Which one do you prefer and why?

I wanted to have a poll but I don't have enough posts to be able to do that :(

Please tell me your choice! Even if you only comment "Midnight", that would be fine. Any further explanations as to why you picked your choice would be very helpful!

Thanks again,

Kev

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• RoyalBlueNotebooks

• minddance

• lapis

• sansenri

Personally, I prefer the darker, richer blue of the Midnight. Both inks behave beautifully in my experience, and both are fairly well-behaved on lesser paper.

Both also have that reddish sheen. I have both, but Midnight is one of my Indispensables. Like writing with velvet.

Majestic is nice too, but can have flow issues.

"I was cut off from the world. There was no one to confuse or torment me, and I was forced to become original." - Franz Joseph Haydn 1732 - 1809

I personally chose Midnight (I've never used Majestic before) for school purposes as well. I use it for taking notes, writing drafts etc.

It's one of my favorite inks. It has a very rich, velvety tone and the shading is fabulous for a dark ink. I usually use it in my Noodler's Nib Creaper Flex, which amplifies the aforementioned qualities.

However, I discovered that this type of ink (perhaps the combination of the ink with a flex pen) tends to bleed through cheap notebook paper as well as regular copy paper (though not as much). I would recommend instead one of Noodler's Bulletproof/Eternal inks.