Recommend A Fp For Heavy Useage

Spaceman Spiff

I am trying to decide on an appropriate FP and need advice. I had a look at previous threads asking something similar to what I have asked below, but they were from 2006. I will continue looking at relevant threads.

What will I use it for?

I am a university student (post-grad) who writes a lot (around 50 pages or more of equations per day).

What do I use currently or used previously?

The university provides ballpoint and also fineliner pens. The ballpoint pens make my fingers ache after a few pages. As I put a bit of pressure, often in the heat of the moment, the tip of fineliners get pushed back inside and they no longer work. The alternatives I have are: gel pens and FPs; I have chosen FP due to lower operational costs.

I had a Parker FP (one of the Sonnets) which broke unfortunately (I fell asleep on it while writing in bed). I did not like this FP very much either as the ink cartridge was rather small, the pen dried up quickly during the pauses in writing, and ink flow was not smooth.

What do I want in the new FP?

• durable & reliable: heavy usage as mentioned above
  • comfortable: good ink flow and smooth flow of the nib on the paper.
  • good sized ink cartridge: while I can refill if I am at my desk, but this is not always the case.
  • affordable: as a student I do not have a large budget; perhaps sub $100 (but can be stretched if absolutely needed).
  • classy (not entirely necessary): I do not like very colourful or oddly-shaped designs very much; I like something that does not draw attention to itself. I like black, shades of grey, and white/silver/metallic colours. From the pens I have seen, Waterman Carene FPs, in my opinion, are the most beautiful of them all.
  • misc: I write on rather cheap writing pads so fine or extra fine tips may be most suitable.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to help! :)

P.S: Please feel free to request more info if I have failed to mention something.