Waterman Kultur Demonstrator

Darcy1978

I am new to this amazing forum and I thought I'd contribute with a look at my recently acquired Waterman Kultur - clear demonstrator version. (Well I say 'new' - I came bumbling onto the FP scene in June with a bargain Mont Blanc which was exposed on this forum as a fake). I now have a modest yet rapidly expanding collection of inks and reasonably priced fountain pens.

I came across this pen on the Dutch version of eBay and paid around 14 dollars for it. It is a brand new Waterman Kultur, apparantly given away by the SNS Bank, as the logo on the pen suggests. I should be able to get it off without any damage - I am wondering if I should, however.

http://i44.tinypic.com/29vo2h4.jpg

The Kultur is a simpler version of the beautifully named Philéas, and one cannot help but wonder at the name of this pen - Kultur is after all the German translation of "culture" so you would expect it to be called the Waterman Culture (although Waterman isn't exactly a French word either). The German perhaps has connotations of sturdiness and reliablity, which suits the budget-friendly price tag of this pen. If you were an avid Kultur collector and had a dedicated room for the collection, it might be called the Kulturkammer. Anyway.

I love the fact that it is a demonstrator and I can clearly see the appeal of the see-through pens that fountain pen enthusiasts so often talk about. I wonder if this pen could be turned into an eye-dropper so that large quantities of ink can freely swim around, but for now I have inked it up with a cartridge (you can notice here I am a beginner) of J. Herbin's Orange Indien. I have one other Kultur (a blue one) and I am still finding my bearings with the medium nib of the demonstrator - as its blue brother has a fine nib.

http://i44.tinypic.com/iwk947.jpg