Pelikan - Best For Signature?

NJguy

Hello,

Complete newbie to fountain pens and would greatly appreciate your assistance here. Considering buying my first fountain pen and I am leaning towards the Pelikan brand.

QUESTIONS

1. Can people give me recommendations on what type of Pelikan pen would be best for signatures? That's the only thing I will be using it for. I'm thinking about 20 times a month and the documents will be business letterheads.

2. Any recommendations on stores in NJ where I may try out the pen first?

Thanks for your help!

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• NJguy

• Pterodactylus

• proton007

• Bo Bo Olson

First of all, welcome to FPN.

We are spolit by choices if you are into Pelikan. It all depends whether you like to have a limited edition or special edition or souveran or tradition lines pen. Some are colourful, artful or formal look pens.

You have to see first the whole range of pen and test the pen in person as to know whether the weight and balance of the pen finally suits you.

As for the nib, since you mentioned a signature pen, I would suggest a broad nib pen.

Just a humble suggestion here.. :)

I suggest to go into a store with a good selection and try different pens to see what you like and what you don't like (size, weight, nib width, ...)

The best pen for signatures is a pen you like writing with. :)

And this is very personal. ;)

For a signature pen I would go with a broad stub. This is a custom grind availiable from such places as nibs.com or richardspen.com.

Mark

In my humble opinion, having held one of these large beauties this weekend, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Pelikan Souverän M1000 Fountain Pen - lovely extra-large nib - perfect for signatures.

Best wishes,

Charlieboy

Not the 1000 he's a ball point barbarian and will bend and break the delicate springy/semi-flex 18K nib.