The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Broken Pelikan M200, What Can I Do?

pelikan m200

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 birdkiss

birdkiss

Dipped Only

• Member - Silver

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 03 October 2013 - 22:44

Hello, I am a complete newbie to the fountain pen world.

One of my family members gave me a Pelikan m200,

and when I twisted the back of the pen to fill up, it made a strange squeaking noise.

And.. if you look at the picture, I'm no fountain pen expert, but I can tell it's broken.

I'm not even sure what the part it's broken is called (it is the one next to the pen cap)

I'm wondering if it's even salvageable?

Also.. I was wondering when I'm filling up a Pelikan m200, am I supposed to see it get filled up in the area I circled with red?

Thanks a lot!

Attached Images

• IMG123.jpg
  • IMG125.jpg

Sponsored Content

#2 nekosan

nekosan

Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 04 October 2013 - 00:09

I am the eternal optimist, and I would say that yet, it is repairable. I'm not sue how or how much it would cost, though. Not really knowing much either, it looks like part of the piston mechanism broke; it may be as "simple" as purchasing and installing a new mechanism.

Yes, when the pen is working, you will be able to see ink in the clear part which you circled in red; that's the ink window.