Pelikan 400Nn - Advice Needed

Mike_in_HK

Hey there, FPN Pelikan experts. I need some advice, please.

I have just purchased a used Pelikan 400NN with an EF 14K 585 solid gold semi flex nib, manufactured in 1958-59. Piston filler, celluloid tortoise green stripe, gold plated metal parts, ebonite hard rubber elongated feeder, fitted with original ebonite feeder ring. It is described as being in 'absolutely mint, originally preserved condition and not restored'. I have not received the pen yet.

My questions are as follows:

Are there any well known weak points in this pen which might need attention?

Would you recommend that I have the pen serviced / restored?

I am no expert in Pelikans and have no idea about the history of the pen or when it was last used. 55 years is quite a long time - I suspect that certain components may have weakened to the point of failure.

Any advice you can offer will be received most gratefully. Many thanks.

Mike

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mike_in_HK

• langere

• pmn

• Azura

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi,

Congrats on the new incoming pen.

I wouldn't call myself an expert but here are my "two cents",

Usually a good pen (proper nib, no cracks, etc) will just need soaking and flushing to remove dried old ink inside.

If that's not the case, i.e., if the pen has been properly cleanned before storing, you are good to go.

You should however check that the piston seal is still good.

For that, you try filling it with water and see how it goes.

Those seals usually hold well and, in most cases, replacement is not needed.

If a seal replacment is needed, bear in mind that the job is a bit tricky and not the best for the beginner to start with.

Cheers.

If I am not mistaken, the plug on the Pelikan is made of cork or other such perishable material. If it hasn't been replaced, it probably should after so many decades. But I understand that that is relatively easy/inexpensive.