The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Video: Platinum Preppy Conversion

platinum preppy eyedropper

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Arson

Arson

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 16 August 2013 - 14:36

I know this is an old topic, but this is my first attempt to convert a pen to an eyedropper, and I just wanted to share.  I'm new to fountain pens, and I'm excited with the results of my conversion.  This is a fun, new interest and thank you to all who share their knowledge.

Sponsored Content

#2 Strombomboli

Strombomboli

I can't write with ballpoint pens

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 16 August 2013 - 15:50

Congratulations! I am currently converting Preppies like there was no tomorrow and can assure you, that it works just as well without the O-ring.

What I am not able to achieve, though, is to rub off the writing on the outside, I have to scrape it off.

What kind of denatured alcohol exactly did you use? And how long did it take? I'd be grateful if you could give some details here; I just might have been too impatient.

Edited by Strombomboli, 16 August 2013 - 18:07.

Iris

My avatar is a painting by Ilya Mashkov (1881-1944): Self-Portrait; 1911, which I photographed in the New Tretyakov Gallery in Moscow.

#3 fwyun

fwyun

Rare

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 164 posts

Posted 16 August 2013 - 17:08

What kind of denatured alcohol exactly did you use? And how long did it take? I'd be grateful if you could give some details here; I just might have been to impatient.

Me too!

#4 Arson

Arson

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Silver

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 16 August 2013 - 20:56