Esterbrook Nibs - What's The Difference Between Them All?

StrawberryJam

(Complete fountain pen newbie here, so please be gentle!)

After hours of reading forum posts, searching on the 'bay, reading writeups on the various weblogs out there, I've come to the conclusion that the really cool thing about Esterbrook pens is that there is a whole range of nibs to choose from, all of which are interchangeable.

In the course of my research, I found several different sites that list all of the nib models/characteristics (for example, Richard's listing of nibs at http://www.richardspens.com/?page=ref/nibs/renew_point.htm). My question is, what's the difference between the model numbers? Richard's site categorizes them by family, but I'm still not sure what the difference between the 1XXX/2XXX (Durachrome) and the 9XXX (Master series), other than my guess is that higher is better? Does "better" mean more durable? Less likely to break/bend?

Also, can someone please explain what the difference between a "flexible" nib is and a "firm" nib? I assume it refers to the "squishness" of the nib, but I'm not sure how that affects line width, etc.

Thanks in advance for everyone's input!

Current Wishlist:

Visconti, Visconti, and...more Visconti! (And some ST Duponts too). (Ok fine, getting on the Omas and Montblanc trains now too. Toot toot.) (And maybe on the Montegrappa one too, but only for the Miyas.)

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• pajaro

• corgicoupe

• Ron Z

• inkstainedruth

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I am no expert on Esterbrook pens / nibs, but think that in general the later the series number the later the production. This would be better production methods, etc, So from a writing and durability point of view you will be better off with a 9550 than a 1550 -The tip will probably give much longer reliable use. You will in the normal course of events have to pay more for the higher numbers.