Parker Refill Leaking Ink Cartridge

repoman576

hello

ive own a parker 75 since the 70's. this pen set was given to me by my father when i graduated HS. so ive had this pen nearly 40 years. needless to say it has sentimental value to me. this pen never leaves my desk. about 2 years ago the ink catridge leaked. what a mess. parker decided to clean and replace the cartridge for me. this process took about 2+ months but it was ok as they cleaned out the mess. so here i am...thinking thats the end of the story but guess what??? the very same ink catridge they put in the pen leaked again. again i email parker and told them their ink catridge leaked. basically they didnt really care and sent me a pdf of retail pen repair places and told me to pick one.

i have 2 questions:

1. have the quality of these ink catridge and parker pens gone down? this sort of stuff never used to happen. to have this happen 2x in the span fo less than 2 years really disappoints me, not to mention peeved me off. btw...in case you want to know these are genuine parker refills...the present one was put in the pen by parker themselves when they serviced it

2. what do you guys do to clean out the barrel and other part inside this pen?

im afraid to use any solvents cause im not sure if there are any plastic parts inside the barrel.

i tried to post a pic but the image was too large.

any info would be appreciated...

thank you

Edited by repoman576

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• repoman576

• athar201

• usk15

• pajaro

When you say 'cartridge' I am guessing you mean converter; the former is usually a single use throw-away (unless you refill with a syringe), the latter you refill as many times as it lasts.

Since the replacement was recent, I'm again guessing that they supplied either a simple sliding mechanism converter or the so-called 'de luxe' twist-action version.