Loose Cap On Sheaffer Legacy 2

mcpell

I'm relatively new to collecting fountain pens and even newer to FPN. I found this forum during my search to figure out how to fix a loose cap on my pen. I acquired the following from a friend:

http://www.sheaffertarga.com/Legacy/864%20sandblasted%20gt%20legacy2.html

The cap connects to the barrel in the closed position and doesn't fall off, but it is loose. The consequence of this, I think, is that the ink dries out.

Whether this is the cause of poor lasting ink performance or not, I'd like to at least fix the cap. I searched across all the forums for "loose cap", but didn't find anything that struck me as relevant. Does anyone have any suggestions as to where to turn? Of course I could send it to Sheaffer, but I'm a DIY guy and would like to learn how to do it.

Any input would be appreciated. Hopefully this is/was the right forum to post this too - I considered the repair forum, but this is a Sheaffer pen, so wasn't sure.

Please advise,

Michael

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• mcpell

• CharlieB

• jar

• Bobby Check

Hi. Welcome home. Pull up a stump and set a spell.

The picture really doesn't help since it is NOT your pen. A Legacy 2 cap can rotate and still be closed correctly. But it can also be a problem of mismatched pieces parts, for example a cap from a rollerball on a fountain pen body.

My Website

I could take a picture of my pen, but it would look just the same. I wasn't sharing the picture as a means to describe or demonstrate my problem. Rather, I shared it so that those who might not be familiar with the pen by name might have some insight based on a picture. For example, the picture demonstrates that this is not a screw on cap.

I don't think my friend had anything but this pen and it was purchased new, but I will ask him if he has/d a roller ball.