New To Fountain Pen's - Bought A Franklin Covey

Mike_Dowling

Hello, I'm new to fountain pens, on a whim I bought a Franklin Covey fountain pen at Staples, it was $13.00 after the cashier gave me a coupon. I picked up a moleskin notebook and wanted a decent looking pen for meetings, I'm sick of using the scribbled legal pad and junk pens, and I love my iPad and smartphone but I always take meetings notes with a pen and paper, typing especially on a device is just terrible for meeting notes.

Anyway I thought the fountain pen would be a novelty and work decent but man this thing stinks, I have to turn the nib upside down to get the ink flowing, then when writing the right way it just scratches at the paper and the ink stops running, then I turn the nib over to get the ink going again and it will write for a couple more lines then peters out. I'm taking it back to staples tomorrow to see if I can get my money back.

I ended up doing some research for better options and the Lamy Safari, Waterman Phileas etc... But I'm a little gun shy now after this first experience with a basically unusable pen. Are these things just finicky? Or can you get a reliable pen that basically writes when you put the point to paper? I was also looking at a Pelikan m200 but it's a bit pricey, I don't mind paying money for something works and will last, but I don't want to spend the money and end up struggling trying to make a pen work.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mike_Dowling

• Runnin_Ute

• yolrgrand

• PolarMoonman

The Pelikan M200 used to be a killer deal 5-6 years ago when you could find one for $50-$60, but at today's prices of $140 for one, not so much.