Midrange Pens Review

msolok

Hey guys,

So I am relatively new to fountain pens, but I am very bitten by the bug. I currently have around 20 fountain pens (all bought new) since I started really getting into them. As someone new to Fountain Pens I always got a bit confused when it came to different models and what would suit me. Unfortunately here in Aus we don't have many Pen stores that we can go to and test out the pens. So I rely heavily on reviews and comparisons online.

I found the hardest pens to pick between are the Mid-range pens in the $80 - $150 bracket. There are just so many options out there, it's difficult to pick. So I figured I would give my opinion on some of the pens in this price bracket and give a quick comparison of them.

So the pens I have in the Round Up today are (from cheapest to most expensive):

1. 2x Kaweco AL Sport with M Steal nib (a Blue one and a grey one) - Priced at around $80-$85
  2. 1x Sailor 1911m GT with 14k HB (Hard Bold) gold nib - Priced at around $150 (I picked mine up from eBay for $75 plus postage, so a real steal!)
  3. 1x Sailor 1911m ST (Rhodium trims) with 14k HM (Hard medium) gold nib - Priced at around $150 (I picked this one up from eBay for around $75 plus postage as well, so another great deal)
  4. 1x Lamy Studio LE Royal Red with 14k F gold nib - Priced at around $150 (can be picked up at around the $100-$120 mark from eBay)
  5. 1x Lamy 2000 with 14k F gold nib - Priced at around $150 (can be picked up on eBay for around $120)

And I have also included a Noodlers Ahab in the fix. Now I know the Ahab does not fit into the price range of the other pens (it is only a $20 pen after all), but I think it's good to show people the size, quality and performance you can get from a Noodlers pen IF you give it some time, attention and work.