Esterbrooks I Like The Look Of

murphy j

So, I'm new to fountain pens and have been cruising the interwebz looking at them. I've come across several Esterbrooks on eBay that I like the look of. The ones I like are either restored and functioning or need some work. The questions I have are... Would an Esterbrook be a good first pen for a newbie? And what do I need to look out for? If it's in a non-functioning state, would it be worth my while to acquire and get working? Or would I be better off finding one I like that's functioning? Any tips, opinions and whatnot are appreciated. Thanks.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Harlequin

• murphy j

• JonSzanto

• pajaro

Top Posters In This Topic

To be honest, it isn't that hard to get a functioning Esterbrook for $30 or less. If you feel mechanically inclined, they are just about the easiest pen in the world to restore, and this particular sub-forum has some permanent threads on just how to do that.

But also, since you say you are new, and I assume you'd like to write with this, you also might want to take a look at the many nibs that can come with an Estie. The vast majority just screw in and screw out (interchangeable) and what would be good, if you plan on buying online or in an auction, is to decide on a common nib so you don't end up with something either exotic or hard to write with. Two of the medium nibs that are pretty common are the 2886 and (less common, just slightly) the 9886.

Lastly: check the classifieds here, as Esterbrooks get sold a lot (Rick Krantz recently had *tons* of them for sale, all restored), and the moderator of the Estie forum, Brian Anderson, has a two sites, one devoted to Esterbrooks, and one for their pen business. He sells them as well, and highly recommended.