Hero 100 vs. Hero 616

Waterman

I'm currently thinking of getting either a hero 100 or a hero 616. However, I don't know which one is better as a everyday kind of pen. I like the 616 style because it resembles the 51 more but it also looks much cheaper than the hero 100. The hero 100 looks like its made much better but it doesn't look as good as the 616.

Thanks

Brad

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Nihontochicken

• Waterman

• psfred

• RLTodd

I'm a newbie to FPs but have both for several weeks. I have the regular size 616, not the jumbo, and I have the metal 100. The 100 has a 14K nib, the metal body makes it fairly heavy. I don't have large hands.

The Regular 616 is thinner, the plastic makes it much lighter and the 616s are steel nibs. I honestly don't feel/see a huge difference in how they write for me, tho' the 100 is nicer. The 616, perhaps a hair finer writer, but haven't tried them with the exact same ink.

Yes the 100 is of better materials and should stand up better, but you can get 3-4 616s for the price.

If you are looking at isellpens and you want a Hero, check all the descriptions, there are many in the 10-14K and steel nibs that are described as ... writes extremely well ... the 100 is one of them, others for prices less than the 100. Pick the style and color you like, don't think you'll be unhappy.

I read the FPN reviews, couldn't make up my mind, bought both, still don't believe either was a bad deal or which I'd send back if forced to.

Did that help?

Ooooooh, step into my parlor! :roflmho:

Okay, what follows is JMO. With that caveat, time to rip and tear! If you are only interested in a pen to use, then by all means get the Hero 100, live long, and prosper. It is much better made in terms of materials (but NOT design!!!) and finish. The 14k gold nib of the 100 is smoother than the steel nib of the 616. As long as you simply just use the pen, you will likely be happier with the 100.