Pen For Every Day Carry

afern401

Hi all,

I am looking for a new everyday pen. I don't suppose I really need one because the 2 pens I own work for EDC, but my Lamy Studio is a little heavy after a while and my Parker 45 is in need of repair. Also, I'm new to this and just want a new toy, so there. I am looking for a sturdy pen and, if such a thing exists, a pen/nib that writes well on cheap paper. If that is more a matter of ink let me know and I can pose the question in the correct place.

Thanks,

Alex

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Harlequin

• afern401

• SallyLyn

• mAnuscript69

What size nib do you prefer? Also any preference of the overall size of the pen? Do you prefer a certain feel (smooth or with some feedback)? What's your favorite pen color?

"I hope to add some measure of grace to the world. . . . Whether I win or lose does not matter, only that I follow the quest."

Looking for a Sheaffer Sovereign II Gray Pearl with an EF nib.

My two every day carry pens, carefully prepared for any cheap paper I might encounter are a Pelikan m200 F nib, loaded with Montblanc Midnight Blue and (for REALLY cheap paper) a TWSBI Mini F nib with Noodlers Black. Both are light and reliable piston workhorses. :thumbup:

Edited by carlos.q

I'm not sure what qualifies for every day carry or not. I would carry any one of the pens I own on a daily basis. Otherwise, I would not buy them. The answer to your question depend a lot on price point. I'd consider Sailor or Pelikan as contenders as they offer may options at a range of price points.

I use a Lamy 2000, Vanishing Point, Pelikan 205, or Lamy Safari.

Safari works for situations where someone might walk off with it or you might damage it. Also Lamy EF nibs and the right ink will be your best bet at finding a pen that does not bleed too much during every day paper. Pilot VP with an EF is perfect, but costly if you lose it.