Pilot Custom 823 Vs Heritage 92 Vs Sailor Progear Realo...

Mistertaz

Hi all!

I'm after a Japanese fine point fountain pen. I've been using Lamy 2000s and Pelikans for years, but want to try out the Oriental competition! :)

I'm currently tossing up between: Pilot Custom 823 / Pilot Heritage 92 / Sailor Progear Realo.

I will only use a piston (or vacuum) system pen, so I've culled my final options down to these three pens. A larger ink capacity is nice, but I only probably do 20-30 (not dense) pages worth of writing per day. Any of the Pelikan piston fillers easily lasts me more than one day.

My main criterion is ease of rapid use for intermittent note-taking. I'm an emergency department doctor, so I have my single pen in a pocket and I'm rushing around the department scribbling notes. I don't have a desk and only want to fill my pen once in the morning. I want to take it out, write a few things and perhaps up to 2-3 pages, and stick it back in my pocket.

My thoughts and concerns:

The Sailor Realo is quite attractive and should have a lovely nib, but has a smaller ink capacity and is quite expensive.

The Pilot Custom 823 has a great ink capacity, but I'm concerned about the need to unscrew the end to write. I understand that notes can be taken without unscrewing the end, but at some stage do you have to unscrew it to allow some ink back into the feed? Or will it fill the feed after sitting for a while? If not, could I write with it, then after finishing and putting the cap back on, just unscrew and then immediately screw the end back on, just to preload the feed? It's also still quite pricy, but looks cheaper than the Sailor.