How Much Did You Pay For A Nib Exchange?

el.Fakir

I have a few Montblanc pens with M nibs (one 149 and a couple of 146s) that I bought before my nib preference has started leaning towards BBs and Stubs. I wanted to have the nibs changed to BB and OBB and asked my boutique for a quotation.

We are here, in Turkiye, used to paying a premium price for almost everything and yet the price asked by the Montblanc Boutique for changing a perfectly well nib, almost in mint condition, with a different sized nib seemed exorbitant to me;

They asked €200 ($258) for changing a 149 nib and €180 ($232) for a 146 nib.

I wonder what your experiences are on this subject. How much did you pay for a nib exchange and where?

Regards,

Halid

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• el.Fakir

• osnofian

• Pen Nut

• jslallar

I've no experience with MB, but I think they will swap for free within a short time after purchase of a new pen; after that, you pay a lot.

For much less, you could send your pens to a nibmeister who will retip them in the sizes you want. In the US, you could use Greg Minuskin or John Mottishaw. This way, you would get custom nibs.

I don't know the exact prices here, as I refuse to pay for nib exchanges, for obvious reasons... but we'll get to that.

The prices quoted seem "reasonable" in line with MB charges here. As far as I know there are at least three price categories, 146 regular nibs, 149 regular nibs, 146 sized Limited Edition nibs. I was quoted 152GBP for a nib exchange on a standard 146 and 215GBP for a nib exchange on a MB 1993 WE Agatha Christie.

Needless to say I preferred to sell the Christie and buy a different one with the nib I wanted... I spent the same, got what I wanted, and someone got very happy with a cheap Christie from me...

For the 146s, I just bought new ones with different nibs...