Help In Finding A Pen

derpderp

Hello all,

I am just writing because I am new to this marvelous website and have a question about pens. For a long time I have tried to reproduce the handwriting of the Renaissance copybooks with varying degrees of success. Ideally I should be using a quill, however I have found that I am unsuited to the instrument since I leave a hellish mess whenever I write with one. Therefore I set out to find a fountain pen closest to a quill that I might get. However the problem is in reconciling all the following points:

i. All quill pens had at least some degree of flex, and certainly moreso than rigid and semiflex modern pens.

ii. Before the advent of true Copperplate writing, nearly all quills were cut horizontally to make them "italic".

iii. Modern nibs (19th century onwards) come in two broad categories:

a. Flex: these are pointed and range from flex to super-flex. They are used for copperplate, spencerian and other round hands.

b. Italics: these are italic, oblique and stump nibs. They are universally made non-flexible.

iv. I can't write with a quill.

To illustrate what I mean I include two plates taken from Martin Billingsley's 1617 copy-book "The Pen's Excellencie".

a. post-94464-0-23234600-1352668206.jpg