Jinhao 159 And Baoer 388 Reviews

MrSpiffy

Last night I inked up my Jinhao 159 with Private Reserve Midnight Blues to try it out for the first time (both ink and pen, if that matters). I'm still fairly new to FPs and don't have much experience with inks or pens, so this review is more from the point of view of a newbie. The only thing I forgot was to take pics of the pens, themselves. Maybe I'll add them later, when I can.

Overall looks/fit/finish: Awesome, for what it is. It's obviously not a really-high-end pen, but at a glance it looks like it could be. It has a nice, glossy black finish to it, with chrome accents. The chrome is pretty nice. It's not the really high-quality chrome that you'd see on a better pen, but it's shiny and nice. It's a large pen with a heavy barrel for heft, so it has that executive look and feel to it. Just makes me wanna say, "Like a boss!" One minor gripe is that the threads for the cap or barrel are a bit rough. Nothing major, but gritty. Not nice and smooth. But the cap does screw on, which is nice. I don't want to worry about a loose cap coming off in a pocket and ink getting on my pants.

Filling/converter: I didn't really have any trouble with filling the pen, as I used a syringe. The PR Midnight Blues was a sample, so it was in a small vial. Even if I could fit the pen into it (which, I can't), I couldn't get the nib under the ink far enough to draw it up into the pen. So, this was easy. I think I'll use this method for filling pens, from now on!

Nib: It's a large nib. The largest I've used, so far. It's pretty stiff, too, being a steel nib. It's a medium line, and writes fairly wet. But, the PR MB didn't bleed through the paper, amazingly. The nib is pretty smooth, though I wonder if a little polishing could really smooth it out. The lines were nice, with no skipping at all, even on the first stroke of the pen.