How Much Ink Do You Use?

Ryan007

I am relatively new to fountain pens, I purchased my first fountain pen very recently. I am currently in high school and have (of course) been using my fountain pen as my primary writing utensil. That being said, in my school I am writing ALOT. I have noticed recently that I go through about at least 3/4 of a standard converter every day. It's not even a very wet pen, it has a medium nib. fill my pen up every night in preparation for the next day. I would carry an extra cartridge with me in case I run out but I'd have to flush the pen out if I was switching inks, and that really isn't practical during class. How much is your typical ink consumption and what has been your highest? Any suggestions on carrying emergency ink would also be appreciated.

-Thanks guys

Edited by Ryan007

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• IrishEyes

• Ryan007

• amberleadavis

• Barkingpig

Private Reserve offers cartridges of their bottled ink in most colors. You could use a PR ink, and carry some extra carts in the same ink color for emergency back up.

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/5642/postcardde9.png

My typical ink consumption during peak writing periods (exam period!) can be up to 2.5 international converters a day. This is also a Western-standard fine nib jotting down cramped annotations in margins, so it's quite a lot of writing! During ordinary times, I typically use up to 1 converter's worth of ink.

For emergency ink I carry a packet of Waterman long cartridges. They hold somewhere around twice the amount of ink as the Waterman converter, so they're huge, but they're unfortunately a bit picky about which pen they can be fitted. The ink in the cartridges and converters are both the same: Waterman Black. A wee bit uninspiring, but it's a true workhorse. They both being the same also means I don't have to flush the pens out between changing converter to cartridge.