Rotring 600

Craigtbone

I have wanted a Rotring 600 for a long time now and the urge to get one just will not go away. I do not know much about them though.

I am an engineer so the design does have a strong appeal to me. (I also have and enjoy some "pretty" pens as well.)

This is what little I have learned:

They are no longer in production.

Constructed from machined brass?

Original version had a rotatable sleeve on the cap to indicate nib size or color? Newer version does not have this feature.

I have a few questions:

Is the newer version as ruggedly constructed as the original?

Is the "silver" finish plated, nickle maybe? Or is it "painted" on?

How durable is the black finish? (I am not a fan of finishes that wear off easily.)

Are replacement nibs readily available, or difficult to find?

Were there any factory italic nibs made?

Ebay prices run from about $250 to almost $500. Are these real prices or do I need to be patient and wait for a lower priced one?

Any input is most appreciated.

Craig T.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Craigtbone

• adallak

• rdh

• dst207

Levenger carries a pen it calls the L-tech, which mimics the look of the Rotring 600. IT's currently $79, according to the Levenger website. $250 for a rotting 600 is, to my thinking, way out of line -- even if it was one of the models that had a gold nib.

I have a 600 with the black finish -- loved the look of the pen, but the writing experience wasn't all that great (the nib would dry out very quickly if not in constant use). Still have it, but it's packed away. And the black finish does show wear after a time, especially on the edges of the hexagonal barrel.

I'll take a crack at a few of your questions, as I have one of the originals in silver finish.