Traveling Ink Well

As I sit here,

I have been looking for a traveling Inkwell for several days now. It seems that, if I was a Civil War Soldier, I would have any number of choices for Traveling Inkwells. But for some reason, living in this century, there is only one choice and it costs $70.00 or $105.00 depending on whether you choose the plastic or metal version.

I bought a little Rosewood bottle from the 1800's or 1900's and it is quite neat but does not fit the bill. It won't fit into a pen case. I guess Civil War soldiers didn't use pen cases.

I'm confused. What happened between 1865 and 2012? Didn't anyone travel? I seem to remember several other people around me at the airport the last time I was there.

There are literally no choices unless I am missing something? Does anyone have any insight as to where the traveling Inkwells are to be found?

I live on a sailboat 7 months a year and I deliver yachts during the entire year. I fill out logbooks hourly while traveling and could easily use up a penful or two of ink in one trip. A inkwell that would help me to get through a week on the water and would fit into a three pen case would be perfect. I often use a TWSBI 540 and having an inkwell that costs twice the price of the pen itself seems silly. Carrying bulky bottles (or some other contrivance) around is of course an option, but I would certainly like something that would fit into a pen case if possible.

Any ideas?

Edited by Quackedo

<span style='font-family: Comic Sans MS'><span style='font-size: 14px;'><strong class='bbc'>"There is an element of truth in all humor." I wonder if that's true?</strong></span></span><span style='font-family: Comic Sans MS'><span style='font-size: 18px;'><strong class='bbc'>Smooth Seas, </strong><strong class='bbc'>Capt Don Q.</strong></span></span>

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• AD64

• Quackedo

• raging.dragon

• tenney

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images