Removing A Stuck Nib: Only Part Of It Comes Out?!

the oxford comma

I had an Esterbrook pen with a nib that wouldn't come out. I soaked it in water for two days, and tried again, and it still didn't come out. Finally, I turned as hard as I could and pulled, and the nib and feed did come out...but only the nib and feed. The plastic part of the nib--the cylindrical part with with the threads on it that normally holds the nib and feed together--is still stuck inside the barrel.

I did manage to put the nib and feed back in, and there's enough friction that it stays in place. But how can I remove the entire nib unit at once? I'm no expert in pen repair, so I'd appreciate some advice!

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• liz4tin

• escribo

• ac12

• Parjanya

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The only way I know of to remove a stuck sleeve that was possibly sealed in with an adhesive of some sort is to force it. You can't very well use the nib/feed for leverage without risk of bending the point. This happened once with a pen I had, and my solution was to soak the section only in very hot water to sort of soften up the sleeve, then jam a screwdriver into the sleeve only so far as to not affect the section threads. Then, unscrew, trying not to destroy the sleeve in the process.

The sleeve I tried this on was destroyed in the process, but I got it out.

Of course, then you're stuck with an orphan nib and feed. If the nib is one you want to keep, then you'll have to hunt down a donor renew point (there are bent and busted points around, and I have one I could donate), knock the nib/feed out of that one and re-install the good one into the new sleeve. The donor point should be the same as the old one, sometimes the points are not all the same size. BTW, what kind of point is it?

Maybe someone else will weigh in with a gentler method, but I'd say that this is not a very common thing that Esty fans run into. Good Luck.

Best Regards