Hello from Folsom California

Penchaser

I have been collecting pens for approximately 10 years and have a pretty eclectic collection of about 75 pens. My favorite part of this hobby is finding pens in the wild at rediculously low prices and having them repaired to almost brand new condition. I spend many hours hunting but have come across several fabulous finds including a Conklin Endura Senior in blue marble for $15.

Anyone have any interesting stories about finding pens in the wild in unusual places?

Bob

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Penchaser

• Maja

• KendallJ

• Joe

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Denis Richard

Welcome to FPN, fellow Northern Californian :)

I haven't been lucky with finding pens in the wild. I usually find things such as a poor beat up desk pen for $125... :blink:

I was going to ask where your hot spots are, but something tells me that you won't say :lol:

Enjoy the forums !

Denis.

Hello Bob and welcome to FPN :D

Small world: I have cousins who live in Galt :) We've visited them several times but I wasn't into pen collecting at the time so I have no tips for good places to find pens in the wild around Sacramento, sorry.

I am sure some other FPNers have fascinating stories about valuable pens that they've found for a pittance, but I don't really have anything of note, really.

I did find a lovely coral Wahl ringtop pencil (in great shape) for $12 Canadian ($9 USD) in a local antique store. I happened to have purchased its corresponding fountain pen (also a ringtop) several months earlier so I was fortunate to have found a matching pencil. I don't know how much the pencil is worth, but my local pen collector friends say I did well. More recently, I did find a Lamy CP1 FP (retail value $56 USD) for $3.50 Canadian and it looks like new old stock...Oh, my Mom recently found a Rotring Core FP in very good shape for 25 cents at a thrift store :D

Pen Chaser Welcome!