Pharmacist's Terra Incinerata

youblue9

This is my first attempt at an ink review, so I apologize if I missed something obvious. Ok, here goes.

I guess I should start off by saying that I am in no way affiliated with pharmacist, I’m just a very happy customer. Also, I apologize that these are photos and not scans. I don’t have a working scanner at the moment. The color representation does look accurate on my screen, particularly on the comparison between the ink wet and dry, and the q-tip swabs. As always, your monitor may vary.

I suspect that most of you are familiar with pharmacist and his experiments into creating iron gall inks that have colors other than the standard blue-black, but for those of you who aren’t, I’ll give a quick summary. Pharmacist is a fellow FPN member (and from what I can tell, all around great guy) who through experimentation has created formulations for iron gall inks in a variety of colors, and has kindly offered them for sale to the rest of the fountain pen community. You can order the inks directly from him by contacting him at irongallinks@hotmail.com. He brews these inks by hand, in small batches, so there’s often a waiting list to get them. However, don’t let that discourage you – the inks are absolutely worth it! Pharmacist was easily to deal with, and I was very surprised at how quickly I got the inks. I emailed him to be put on the waitlist on June 17th, and on June 23rd he emailed me to say the batch was ready. I sent payment on June 24th, and the inks were in my hands on July 1st (I’m in the US, pharmacist is in Belgium I believe). I think I’ve waited longer than that for ink that didn’t have to be hand-brewed!