Inoxcrom Oxford

jslallar

INTRODUCTION: Just browsing through a local market a few months ago I came upon a thin black metal pen with lacquer coating. Turned out to be an Inoxcrom. The price was very reasonable. I have had some experience with Spanish Inoxcroms before and knew that the pens are worth their price and more. Closer inspection showed a small dent in the barrel. I showed it to the shopkeeper and got the pen for nearly half the already very reasonable price. I later found that it is Inoxcrom Oxford.

1. Appearance & Design (6/10) – Drab, all black lacquer with golden straight squarish clip, golden top and bottom ends and the name of the company near the cap lip, also in golden letters. The pen is quite thin but surprisingly heavy for its size.

2. Construction & Quality (8/10) Although drab in appearance the pen is well made and the only defect (the small dent) was post production most likely. The cap snaps on well and with a satisfying click, neither too loud and forceful nor too light. The grip section has horizontal ridges, increasing the grip and belie the thin size of the grip section. The barrel screws on easily. The cap posts securely with a very small click and stays there, surprisingly not affecting the balance much and making the pen long enough for use even by people with long hands.

3. Weight & Dimensions (7/10) I do not have the exact weight of this pen but it is about 18 gms. It is 13.8 cm long capped, 11.8 cm uncapped and 15.2 cm posted. Maximum width (cap band) is about 1.2 cm, barrel is 1.0 cm, and the grip section tapers down from 0.9 to 0.7 cm. It is a thin long pen. Being thin it gives the impression of being smaller than it actually is. The numbers were deducted for I find it too small and narrow for my large hands (glove size 8.5).