What Calligraphy Pens Are You Using?

gardener

I am new to calligraphy and am using a quite cheap manuscript fountain pen with various nibs. Also tried William Mitchell dip pen with vatiable results. What are your favourite pens/nibs?

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gardener

• caliken

• Randal6393

• Fabienne

The Lamy Joy with a 1.5 nib. Very smooth and seldom skips. I also have a TWSBi with a 1.5 nib but that one does skip every once in a while. I like it a lot but I don't think the ink flow is as lush as it could be.

It's for Yew!bastardchildlil.jpg

I am new to calligraphy and am using a quite cheap manuscript fountain pen with various nibs. Also tried William Mitchell dip pen with vatiable results. What are your favourite pens/nibs?

Manuscript pens and edged nibs are great value for money and will give years of good service.

IMO the William Mitchell square-edged nibs set the standard for quality and consistency.

Ken

For handwriting, I use a variety of fountain pens -- love the Pelikan and Lamy pens, very useful. For really fine work, agree with Ken -- nothing beats the Mitchell pens, and get great results from the Manuscript pens.

Yours,
Randal

From a person's actions, we may infer attitudes, beliefs, --- and values. We do not know these characteristics outright. The human dichotomies of trust and distrust, honor and duplicity, love and hate --- all depend on internal states we cannot directly experience. Isn't this what adds zest to our life?