Hero 100, 616, 329s Reviews

Macuser

Most people on this site are very familiar with the Parker 51. Occasionally I see references to the Hero 100. However, I rarely see anything about the Hero 329 or the 616. I wanted to give you a very brief introduction to these pens and compare them to the Parker 51. Be warned, I am a novice pen user... but here are my observations.

Hero 100 Stainless ($27)

I really like the minimalist styling of this pen. It is a great flighter, for a reasonable price. It writes beautifully. It is not scratchy, yet writes a fairly fine line. I would argue that its nib is the closest to to the Parker 51 of any of the Heros I own. They both glide across the paper and start flawlessly. All of the metal makes it a medium weight pen, but its thin profile makes it easy to grip. My only complaint with this pen is the clip. It is hinged, but it is stiff and often wants to catch on shirt pockets. The point on the clip seems sharper than the 51 and can pierce fabric if you are not careful. Overall this pen is very reliable and I work it into my rotation often.

Hero 616 Jumbo ($10)

This pen is sold as a regular version and a Jumbo. The jumbo is almost identical in size to the Parker 51. It is also the closest in styling. Both bodies have a similar clutch ring near the hooded nib. The Parker 51's ring is all metal, while the 616 ring is actually transparent plastic with 2 metal rings surrounding it. The caps are almost identical as well. They both sport the arrow and are virtually indistinguishable. The Parker 51 cap is heavier and made of a higher quality metal. The 616 cap is a lighter metal and it has a subtle design of lines running vertical. The Parker 51 cap is smooth. The 616 writes very smooth and fine line.

Hero 329 "Old Style" ($8)