A Real Beginners Question...

crazystan

I am fairly new to fountain pens (< 1 year), and haven't written in cursive since 1988. I am really interested in both improving my penmanship, and learning Spencerian or Copperplate, and have a few questions.

1. Would it be easier to start with business, which is similar to what I learned in school, or, should I just jump in the deep end with something else?

2. Is it necessary to use a dip pen/pen holder, or could I get going with a fountain pen?

I am just dipping my toes in the water here, so any advice is welcome.

Thanks!

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Randal6393

• rodolfolascano

• crazystan

• HDRoot

I am fairly new to fountain pens (< 1 year), and haven't written in cursive since 1988. I am really interested in both improving my penmanship, and learning Spencerian or Copperplate, and have a few questions.

1. Would it be easier to start with business, which is similar to what I learned in school, or, should I just jump in the deep end with something else?

2. Is it necessary to use a dip pen/pen holder, or could I get going with a fountain pen?

Thanks!

I am new to Copperplate and haven't tacked Spencerian yet.

There are some fountain pens that you can use to get a generic look of copperplate (example the Noodler's Ahab/creaper and then more expensive pens I have not had the pleasure of using. You can also get a craftsman to make specialty nibs for you too to try to achieve a CP type look) .

However, to get the 'real' copperplate you should really use a good copperplate/spencerian nibs. I like to use a good crowquill or

a Gillot 303, 404, and Learnardt EF Principal, or Brause 66ef.

You should use the right equipment to get the right effect.

As far as should you start w/ business script first, I believe (and keep in mind there is a ton more knowledgable folks on here) I think that if you know how to write cursive, the you should just go