Converter For Sheaffer School Pen?

Clifford

Hello all,

I picked up this School pen the other day; it came as-is without a converter. Never had a used Sheaffer before and I was curious if the standard Sheaffer converter they sell now still fits these.

Thanks,

Cliff

post-47536-0-80757700-1323910702.jpg

Clifford

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• bob_hayden

• jar

• Jamesbeat

• Clifford

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

I'm no Sheaffer expert, but when I've had these pens in the past, it seemed as if they were pretty much "cartridge" pens, in that the barrel was a little too narrow for the converter. I was using the older metal body squeeze converters and not the more current piston models, so I can't speak to that issue. However, given that the converter I was attempting to use in this pen was what Sheaffer produced in that day, my guess is that this was not intended to be used with a converter.

Hope this helps.

I don't have a squeeze-type Sheaffer converter, but the newer piston one that came with my Sheaffer 100 does not fit any of my school pens (and I have a few from different vintages). So probably it won't fit this.

However! I have been refilling cleaned-out Sheaffer cartridges with bottled ink and an ink syringe and it works like a dream. :)

Just a thought - I am not convinced this is what I would consider to be a 'school' pen. I think the example you have a small step up and is a Skripcert.

The piston type definitely lodges in the barrel. It can, with care, be gotten out again.... :bonk:

The squeeze type definitely lodges in the barrel too. :bonk: Mine spent some time as an eyedropper and is now back to being a cartridge pen.

• 4 years later...