The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

Delta Evolution Darwin Limited Edition

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jandrese

jandrese

Collectors Item

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 912 posts

Posted 20 November 2011 - 23:21

I first saw this pen while on honeymoon in Paris several years ago. Even my wife liked it, but she needed new clothes more than I needed an new pen! Although I am a biologist, and therefore think that Darwin is cool and all, really though, this is just a gorgeous pen. The marbled blue resin is fantastic. Note, however, that the reflection of my white background in the photos below imparts a weird purple tinge to the edges of the pen. For a non tainted image see Deltas website. Like nearly all of Delta's limited editions this pen has sterling silver fittings. In this case it is a barrel band depicting Darwin's Finches. For those of you not in the know, the finches beak variation represents adaptation to their particular environment. Natural selection. I don't care about finches but it is nice metal work.

Posted Image

Anyway, the pen is fairly large, with a decidedly substantial feel for a cartridge/converter filler. The evenly placed trim rings are somewhat novel and look pretty. The smaller barrel diameter at the end is supposed to accommodate the cap for posting. As can be seen in the photo below, however, the cap does not post flush with the fat part of the barrel, and posting makes the pen quite ungainly. Best not to post.

Posted Image