Is Food Dye Suitable To Fill Fountain Pens With?

Chickenscrawl

A rather strange question but on the weekend while scanning through a list of noodlers inks a strange thought came to me, could I mix my own inks using household food dyes? I was wondering if anybody has tried this before, or if it is such a stupid idea that nobody would dare do something like this out of fear of damaging a pen. Anyhoo I was just curious to hear everybodies thoughts on this as I am new to FB's and pretty inexperienced when it come to appropriate inks.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• virgilio

• USMCMom

• Chickenscrawl

• pharmacist

A rather strange question but on the weekend while scanning through a list of noodlers inks a strange thought came to me, could I mix my own inks using household food dyes? I was wondering if anybody has tried this before, or if it is such a stupid idea that nobody would dare do something like this out of fear of damaging a pen. Anyhoo I was just curious to hear everybodies thoughts on this as I am new to FB's and pretty inexperienced when it come to appropriate inks.

It has been tried. A search of the archives should turn up a thread or two.

I doubt it would damage the pen... but I also doubt it would look pretty on paper. It would probably absorb in and cause massive feathering :(

WTT: Conklin Nozac Cursive Italic & Edison Beaumont Broad for Pelikan M1000 or Something Cool (PM me to discuss. It's part of my One Red Fountain Pen trading post)

WTB: 1. Camlin SD

2. 1950s to early 1960s 1st Gen MB 149 with BB nib

3. Airmail 90T Teal Swirl

4. PenBBS 355-16SF Demonstrator

Watch-art used food coloring and water (I think it was water) a good while back and posted his results. I wish I could remember when that was. I'll try to find the post.

Hi guys,

A base to make a good writing ink for fountain pens is as follows:

-food dye 1 gram (Amaranth, Brilliant Blue, Acid Green, Food Brown, Brilliant Black)