The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies

Photo

My Sütterlin Practice

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Vanno

Vanno

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Bronze

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 04 August 2011 - 23:09

Hey

I started practicing Sütterlin back in school, but then my Abitur came and I didn't had the time anymore.

Now, I started again and thought I could show you how I'm doing.
So here is my 'first' practice session:

A quote from Goethes "The Sorrows of Young Werther" :

and a short part in english ;)

5.8.11_2

It will take some time to get it more fluent. The letters do not have the same size...I sometomes miss some letters, because I'm really concentrated, writting in enligsh is even more difficult then.

Vanessa

Sponsored Content

#2 GhostShip Blue

GhostShip Blue

Mint

• Member - Gold

• PipPipPipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 05 August 2011 - 03:23

What an interesting script - I'd never heard of it before and (if I recall my high school German correctly, "Ich habe kleine Deutsch.") don't speak or read German. I love that it has ligatures for "mm" and "nn". Great work so far, and important to keep the script alive by learning it.
"If you show us a drunk blonde chick in her underwear, she has to die. That's just how we roll." - I wish I knew who to attribute that to. T'weren't me.

Posted Image
Ain't great, but it's the best I've got. So far.

#3 Vanno

Vanno

NOS (New Old Stock)

• Member - Bronze

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 05 August 2011 - 23:43

Sütterlin/Suetterlin was taught from 1924 to 1941 (it was forbidden since then, now it's a cultural good)
In my surroundings, nobody can read or write Suetterlin. I think it is very attractive because it is totally different from my normal handwriting.

Day 2:
First part again in German.
6.8.G.jpg