Sheaffer Vac - How Full Should It Fill?

Iscribe

I was thinking about purchasing a Sheaffer vac (model not listed by seller). It is listed as being freshly restored by the seller. The seller states that the pen only fills half-way, but can be filled further by expelling the air and drawing up more ink. This is a grren striated vac with wide cap band. I am new to vintage pens so I wondered if it is normal for a restored vac to only fill half way on an initial fill attempt? Thanks.

John

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Ron Z

• ashbridg

• RayCornett

I was thinking about purchasing a Sheaffer vac (model not listed by seller). It is listed as being freshly restored by the seller. The seller states that the pen only fills half-way, but can be filled further by expelling the air and drawing up more ink. This is a grren striated vac with wide cap band. I am new to vintage pens so I wondered if it is normal for a restored vac to only fill half way on an initial fill attempt? Thanks.

John

No, it is not at all correct and I'd question if it was really restored properly. Factor in about $30.00 or so to get it restored properly.

My Website

I believe that would be the one I restored, and have for sale right now... :)

The pen doesn't fill half-way, but more like between 1/2 and 3/4 of the way, which I hear is semi-normal. But, it's the first one I've restored and I used the fountainbel method so maybe that makes a difference... I'll play with it and see what I can do.

There's a first time for everything! wink.gif

Regards,

777 - Tyler Dahl

Need a pen repaired or a nib re-ground? I'd love to help you out.

FPN%252520banner.jpg

Colossians 3:17 - And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

John