Cheap Flexible Nib

thelioninlove

Hi there,

I'm very new to the realm of fountain pens. Basically, I resolved to get one two days ago after spending an excruciating number of hours on a drawing that shouldn't have taken so long. I'm an amateur cartoonist and I've been using a dip pen, but I find that with broader strokes the pen runs out of ink after barely a line and with finer strokes it clogs. The other problem I've been having is needing to press so hard to get a line out of my pen. My hand still hurts. I've done a tiny bit of reading in the past two days and decided I need a flex nib on whatever I happen to buy because that's what the appeal of these types of pens is for me. I don't need anything pretty, just something cheap like properly cheap. I live in Canada so a local store or a store with reasonable shipping charges would be nice, because I don't know where to buy.

Many thanks.

Edited by thelioninlove

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• thelioninlove

• Bo Bo Olson

• andybiotic

• mirosc

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Flex pen is like saying I want a car with a motor.

What flex?

Semi-flex...somewhat flexible/'flexi', easy full flex (there are nail and semi-flex full flex pens), Wet Noodles*, or Weak Kneed Wet Noodles*?

(*Sort of got to have the hand to use.)

How wide do you want to have the tines spread, 3 X...like semi-flex or 'flexi' or 4-5 Times like Full Flex?

What dip pen nib were you using? That gives us an idea just how flexible you are use to.

There is a trick of taking a bit of hot/warm beeswax and forming a feed under your dip pen. You make rills in the wax by pressing something somewhat sharp into the heated wax.

Some one might link you to it.

Then what is cheap? $20-70-150?

In reference to P. T. Barnum; to advise for free is foolish, ........busybodies are ill liked by both factions.