Jump to content

The Fountain Pen Network uses (functional) cookies. Read the FPN Privacy Policy for more info.  To remove this message, please click here to accept the use of cookies


FPN appearing slow

Dearest Member or Visitor of the little Fountain Pen Nut house on the digital prairie,

Due to a continuing DDoS attack, FPN could be moving only slowly. Hosting Support is dealing with this. The earlier reported hardware issue has been fixed. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Warm regards, the FPN Moderator & Admin Team






How to post pictures on FPN


  • Please log in to reply
162 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Denis Richard_*

Guest_Denis Richard_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 March 2005 - 01:16

Pictures to be included in FPN posts need to be uploaded to a server first (i.e. they need to be already on-line vs. on your hard drive). You can choose to upload them on your own web space location, if your Internet Service Provider gave you one, or use one of the several free services available, such as the ones listed here. Photobucket, Flickr, and Picasa are some of the more popular ones used by FPN members.

Once your picture is on-line and you know its address (URL), all you need to do is to insert it in your post by clicking the "IMG" button (Posted Image). A pop-up window will request the file URL, and upon clicking "OK", the code will be inserted in your post.

Alternatively, you can do this manually by insert the picture's address between image tags :
[IMG]http://myserver.com/mydirectory/myfile.jpg[/IMG]

Note : this does not apply to avatars, which are uploaded from your hard-drive (see under "My Controls")


Pictures can also be uploaded to FPN's server, if you have sufficient space free on your account (approximately 4.8Mb is provided). In order to do so, compose your message in the Full Editor mode and look for the "Attachments" label below the text area. Click on browse and select the image file to upload, then click "Attach This File" to upload it to your post. You then use the list of the attachments shown to select where you want them to appear in your posting.

Edited by MYU, 31 January 2010 - 01:27.


Sponsored Content

#2 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,910 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 27 February 2006 - 22:00

Hi Denis, Roger,

FYI, and for all our FPNutters :D :
You can't post as many pictures as you want. It may seem unlimited, but the maximum currently is 25 externally linked pictures per single post.

HTH, warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#3 Armchop

Armchop

    so many pens..so little time

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 291 posts

Posted 13 April 2006 - 21:53

:meow:
I've been using Photoamp.com
i tried some of the ones listed in the forum but had problems uploading to the services. Also some of the services do not have "actual" photo storage but give you an "album". you can only view the photos as an album on a webpage.
Photoamp actually tells you the URL to type in for putting your image onto forums and you can thus/also access ther pics directly. The service is very easy to use and fast and efficient. :drool:
Armchop

#4 Stephen-I-am

Stephen-I-am

    Allergic to gold trim

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,023 posts

Posted 22 July 2006 - 20:21

How do I upload more than one picture to a single post? Is that possible?

Stephen
Current Favorite Inks
Noodlers La Reine Mauve Noodlers Walnut

#5 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,910 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 22 July 2006 - 20:50

Hi Stephen,

You can only "upload" more than one picture at a time when you use your own hosting service. You can only attach a single file (picture) when posting. If you just link to pictures on your hosting site, you may link up to 25 pictures per message.

Attaching you do by using the Attachments option (and Browse) underneath the message box. Just remember that when you do a "Preview Post", you have to reattach the picture again afterwards, as the option loses the filename and -path info for some reason. Essentially, thsi is meant for uploading a picture from your own hard drive; this puts a copy of your picture on the FPN-site, so FPN really becomes the hosting site for your picture.

Linking you do by using the "IMG" button just above the message box. Obviously, the pictures reside on another server than the FPN one in that case, and if you ever delete them at the other site, nobody will be able to see them anymore over here either.

Alternatively, considering the size of attached picture allowed, what you could do when you want to add more than a single picture as an attachment, is to make a single, large, composite picture first. Just make sure it is no wider than about 800 pixels, so everybody can see the picture well on their screens.

HTH, warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#6 Arkanabar

Arkanabar

    Ain't I a stinker?

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,267 posts
  • Flag:

Posted 27 September 2006 - 10:43

I'm going to make a plea, here.

I'm on 28.8kbps dialup, and I share it with two other people. Screams of protest resound when I try to load huge pictures.

I'd never ask anyone to reduce resolution, but please, please please crop your photos.

What's that? You have no software to do that? Get thee to http://gimp.org and get a copy of the GNU Image Manipulation Program, which is nearly as full-featured as Paint Shop Pro or PhotoShop. Cropping should be one of the easier options.

#7 shalley

shalley

    Lady Pen Crafter

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • Location:West Gnawed Pencil, TN
  • Flag:

Posted 22 November 2006 - 13:53

Can you up load gif files as well as jpg?

Nope, I tried, only JPG.

Edited by shalley, 22 November 2006 - 22:05.

"Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. But today is a gift, and that is why it’s called the Present." - Master Oogway, Kung Fu Panda :)


My ETSY Store

My Website

My DEVIANT ART Website

#8 dwmatteson

dwmatteson

    Vintage

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 630 posts

Posted 26 November 2006 - 17:26

Just catching up on my lifehacker reading, and I read a post about Quick Thumbnail. You can upload a picture from your desktop PC, choose from a set of resizing options, and it generates a resized image. You can save that back to your desktop and upload to FPN.

A little clunky, but possibly easier for some than downloading GIMP and learning how to use it. (I love GIMP, by the way -- powerful and free!)

Don M.

[edited to add link to Quick Thumbnail web site]

Edited by dwmatteson, 26 November 2006 - 17:27.


#9 Ruaidhri

Ruaidhri

    Ruaidhrí

  • FPN Hon. Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,918 posts
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Flag:

Posted 01 April 2007 - 15:52

Folks,

Please see post in New Members on images.
Re-Sizing Images

Regards,
Ruaidhrí
Administrator and Proprietor of Murphy Towers

#10 spilled ink

spilled ink

    Spilled Ink

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 08 July 2007 - 20:25

This is a silly question but here goes.I am trying to post pics of pens for sale.I am using photoamp and attempting to follow the instructions in this thread.When I hit upload my screen continues to say uploading and nothing happens even after several minutes.Where is the "IMG" button?Please help.

#11 wimg

wimg

    Stip Etruria nut :)

  • FPN Admin

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,910 posts
  • Location:Maastricht, Netherlands, EU
  • Flag:

Posted 08 July 2007 - 22:01

Sorry, we need to rewrite this lot. It is only valid fro the old software...

In the mean time, there are 2 options, the Insert Image button, which is the second button to the right of the smiley button just above the message editing box, or the Browse/Upload option to the bottom right of the message box.

Option one, the Insert Image button, requires a url to th eimage, IOW you have to have it somewhere on a website, the second option, Browse/Upload, allows you to use an image from your own PC here, by uploading it to the FPN server.

HTH, warm regards, Wim

the Mad Dutchman
laugh a little, love a little, live a lot; laugh a lot, love a lot, live forever


#12 Stephen-I-am

Stephen-I-am

    Allergic to gold trim

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,023 posts

Posted 17 August 2007 - 19:58

Once I've uploaded an image file to the FPN server, how do I control where it appears in my message?

Stephen
Current Favorite Inks
Noodlers La Reine Mauve Noodlers Walnut

#13 SamCapote

SamCapote

    Got Warm Milk?

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,258 posts
  • Location:USA (CT)
  • Flag:

Posted 30 August 2007 - 08:59

QUOTE(Arkanabar @ Sep 27 2006, 06:43 AM) View Post
I'm going to make a plea, here.

I'm on 28.8kbps dialup, and I share it with two other people. Screams of protest resound when I try to load huge pictures.

I'd never ask anyone to reduce resolution, but please, please please crop your photos.

What's that? You have no software to do that? Get thee to http://gimp.org and get a copy of the GNU Image Manipulation Program, which is nearly as full-featured as Paint Shop Pro or PhotoShop. Cropping should be one of the easier options.


I know this was an old post, but that reminds me of my ago-old "XAT Image Optimizer" programs for JPG, etc. It makes a huge difference in file size.
With the new FPN rules, now I REALLY don't know what to put in my signature.

#14 ArPharazon

ArPharazon

    King of Men

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts

Posted 19 September 2007 - 01:01


I have a question related to viewing attached pictures, not posting them. Hopefully this will be seen, and perhaps even answered!

It seems that all the attached photos here are size reduced (many seem to be 80% of original size). This makes them viewable and better than a thumbnail, but usually a bit jaggy looking. They have text at the top that says something along the lines of 'click to view full size' . . . but when I click, instead of getting the full-size picture I get a new window with the forum homepage instead! This happens every time I try this.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks!!


"Thus Ar-Pharazôn, King of the Land of the Star, grew to the mightiest tyrant
that had yet been in the world since the reign of Morgoth . . ."

— J.R.R. Tolkien, Akallabêth —


#15 Jen

Jen

    Near Mint

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 22 September 2007 - 07:46

I have the same question!! What is up with that???
Jen

Make peace with God and make peace with yourself
'cause in the end there's nobody else

---Point of Grace


#16 Jen

Jen

    Near Mint

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 28 September 2007 - 07:38

Seems like I answer a lot of my own questions...

I figured it out, the link "click to view full image" only works when the picture is attached using the FPN attachment function when posting.
The link will NOT work (open new window with home page) if the picture is hosted on another server.
Jen

Make peace with God and make peace with yourself
'cause in the end there's nobody else

---Point of Grace


#17 Jen

Jen

    Near Mint

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 28 September 2007 - 16:14

Hehehe I have no idea... laugh.gif Hopefully one of the administrators will see this thread and shed some light...
Jen

QUOTE(Hugh Peck @ Sep 28 2007, 03:42 AM) View Post
Thank you. Can't this be fixed?

Hugh


Jen

Make peace with God and make peace with yourself
'cause in the end there's nobody else

---Point of Grace


#18 Maria

Maria

    Extremely Rare

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 323 posts

Posted 28 November 2008 - 04:36

Dear Experts;

Might you have 'tips' of the trade in photographing shinny chrome/metalic objects (like fountain pens), as not to blind someone when they look at the photo?

I'm not a professional and use a Kodak digital camera (automatic for camera challenged folks like me roflmho.gif ).

And, how do you wonderful camera experts get the fountain pen clip photographs so darn clear! I tried photographing my oldies and it came out a blurr.

I am enjoying other's works very much indeed-- all professional like indeed!

Respectfully,
Maria
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Edited by Maria, 28 November 2008 - 04:55.


#19 Randorider

Randorider

    Mint

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted 01 January 2009 - 23:36

Is it possible to use picasaweb to host photos that are viewable in the post? I've tried a few ways to post and received a message that says

"Sorry, dynamic pages in the [IMG] tags are not allowed"

Thanks,

Len

#20 yachtsilverswan

yachtsilverswan

    Atlanta

  • Member - Gold

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,100 posts
  • Location:Atlanta
  • Flag:

Posted 12 January 2009 - 02:46

error

Edited by yachtsilverswan, 12 January 2009 - 02:47.

Ray
Atlanta, Georgia

Pilot Namiki Vanishing Point with Richard Binder ItaliFine 0.9mm/F Nib
Faber Castell's Porsche Design with Gold & Stainless Mesh in Binderized CI Broad nib
Visconti LE Divina Proporzione in Gold with Binderized CI nib
David Oscarson Valhalla in gray (Thor) with Broad Binderized CI nib
Michel Perchin LE Blue Serpent (reviewed) with Binderized CI nib
Montblanc 149 in Medium Binderized CI nib
Montblanc Pope Julius II 888 Edition (reviewed) in Bold Binderized CI nib






Sponsored Content




|