Parker Challenger Repair Question

publishing guy

I'm a newbie to pen restoration and have just run across a Parker Challenger and can't quite figure out the inner workings. It has a button fill and I have freed up the button itself with just a little soaking, but I can't find anything in "da Book" about what's inside. I assume it has some sort of a sac, but there is nothing on the nipple. Can anyone talk me through how I determine whether the pen is working and what to do if it isn't? Does this require a special sac? Is this typically a complicated repair? Thanks for any help

What if the Hokey Pokey really is what it's all about?

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• publishing guy

• MontMozart

• Ernst Bitterman

• watch_art

I'm a newbie to pen restoration and have just run across a Parker Challenger and can't quite figure out the inner workings. It has a button fill and I have freed up the button itself with just a little soaking, but I can't find anything in "da Book" about what's inside. I assume it has some sort of a sac, but there is nothing on the nipple. Can anyone talk me through how I determine whether the pen is working and what to do if it isn't? Does this require a special sac? Is this typically a complicated repair? Thanks for any help

This link may help

http://munsonpens.wordpress.com/2007/12/29/janesville-wisconsin-button-fill/

Parker button fillers are not too complicated of a repair and a Challenger is a good one to start with....

1. Remove the button...I use a pair of cutoff pliers, I put the teeth underneath the button top, squeeze very lightly and pull it out, sometimes it is tight and you have to wiggle a little, but usually you can get it out. Don't wiggle too much or you can crack the blind cap screw part.

2. Next pull the filling bar out through the hole that the removal of the button created. Again, usually not too hard, but if it is stuck to a petrified sac, it could get tricky.