Pilot Custom 742 Falcon Nib: Bad Railroading

figosmum

Dear flex experts,

I've had my Pilot Custom 742 Falcon flex nib for a year now, and it has bad railroading problems.

I thought they might get better overtime, but no.

The pen will write a few sentences nicely after having rested, but then, bad railroading starts; the problem comes up regardless of ink, even inks with good flow like Waterman or Diamine don't solve the problem.

I have never taken a pen apart, so if you have some tips regarding this, please bear in mind I'm not experienced but willing to try.

As I ordered the pen from overseas, I would hate to ship it back and forth and would prefer to solve the problem myself.

Edited to add: Problem occur regardless of writing speed, and even if I don't flex the nib very far.

Thanks for your input,

Katinka

Edited by figosmum

WTB: Pelikan Epoch saphire/jade/silver, Cross C-Series Monaco Blue, Cross Compact Magenta, Fuliwen Silver Ring orange or yellow (all with M/B nibs except for Fuliwen)

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• figosmum

• watch_art

• Ouroboros

• USN Air TrafficController

Can you describe what you mean by "railroading"? Do you mean it writes and then goes dry, with ink flow problems? If it was new then I would say it just needs a good flushing out in case there were any machining oils left from manufacture. I have the original Falcon and its a wet writer. Mine did have a scratchy nib and I had it fixed by a "nibmeister" and I could recommend several in the US but I can't see where you are from.

The difference between the almost right word & the right word is really a large matter--it's the difference between the lightning bug and the lightning.

- Mark Twain in a Letter to George Bainton, 10/15/1888