The First Fontain Pen - Carene?

lightstorm

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie for writing by fountain pen, but I always wanted to become a part of the people, who use it. So I decided to go for a Waterman Carene pen. Well, I wanted to start from the best. Ha-ha! So, I am about to order it on ebay.

What should I expect from using that pen? Does it "tricky" in everyday life? Are there some "tricks" for using the notorious nib, or it "works right out from the box"?

I did a little survey on this forum and found out that in more than a few posts it written that "it leaks". Is it right, or it can happen to any pen?

I would appreciate any suggestions!

Thanks a lot!

Andrew.

Edited by lightstorm

The things you own end up owning you. It's only after you lose everything you're free to do anything.

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• lightstorm

• Left FPN

• jigesh

• Koyote

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Andrew,

To begin, welcome to FPN! I think you'll find it a welcoming and informative place.

My first FP was a Carene and it was where I really fell in love with FP's. Reliable and stylish, it's a sweet pen. The only "trick" I can tell you about is that since the nib is integral to the section that if your fingers creep forward and grip the pen closer to the business end when writing (like if you are trying to do some detail work) that they might slide forward enough to touch the back edge of the nib and then you get some ink on your fingers.

I think this is one of the places where the "it leaks" comments come from. But, if your hand was touching the back edge of any nib you'd get ink flowing on your fingers but on a more traditional style that contact is much less likely. So, keep your fingers in a normal writing position and you'll have no problems.

Enjoy your beautiful Carene and welcome to the wonderful world of fountain pens!

W2FPN.gif

A proud member of the Pittsburgh Fountain Pen Club

Fall Down 7, Stand Up 8