Suggestions for Sid's magic reblackening potion...

antoniosz

I had bought the magic stuff few weeks ago, but I just had a chance to try it.

So I started practicing with one pen and I have couple of difficulties.

First the corner of the top of the barrel. I can not make the potion to stick to it. The film breaks and the edge remains brown.

Also the film tends to break if I put too little on the rubber, but if I put a bit more then it runs down the sides.

FInally now that the black film has dried I see that I have patches that are not covered. What do I do? Do I apply on more coating?

Any suggestions?

AZ

Edited by antoniosz

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Roger W.

• antoniosz

• RussA

• Gerry

Top Posters In This Topic

Why not ping Syd and see what advice he has? He's a remarkably friendly fellow. His e-mail address is on his Web site: http://pensburymanor.com/

Elizabeth

When there's nothing to lose and nothing to win

Ain't nothing like a brand new fountain pen

Have you tried various (but safe) cleaning solutions on the pen Antonios? Your description sounds pretty much like some sort of surface contamination by silicone/oil/greasy matter (perhaps even oils from handling), causing the waterbased solution not to be able to reach the HR surface.

Regards

Gerry

Hi Antonios,

The first thing that came to mind was oil/grease contmination, just from use, similar to what Gerry suggests.

A way to clean it reasonably safely is the following method:

1. Moisten a corner of a cotton or paper towel with water and a drop of liquid dishwasher soap. Note: just moisten.

2. Rub the part of the pen where the coulurant doesn't want to stick to with the moist part of the just prepared toweling material.

3. Next, rub the pen with a dry towel, to remove any moisture.