Best Inks for Dip Pens?

tonybelding

Since I started playing around with dip pens and vintage nibs, I've found they are a lot more sensitive to different inks than fountain pens tend to be -- and a lot of fountain pen inks just don't want to work in them. The problem is that some inks don't want to "stick" to the nib. Rather, they tend to gush onto the page as soon as the tip touches it.

I found some nibs, and some inks, are much more resistant to this problem than others.

The two best nibs I've found for consistent ink flow are the Esterbrook 905 Radio Pen (which I only have one of, sadly) and the Francis Pratt 455 Gladiator (which I have a whole box of). One of the worst thus far has been the Esterbrook 788 Oval Point. I have several Esterbrook 442 Jackson Stub nibs that fall somewhere in between.

The Oval Point tends to blort a gob of ink onto the page immediately after it's been dipped. If I blot some of the excess ink off the nib, I can get it to form actual letters and words -- albeit very very wet ones that need blotting. After about two words all the ink is gone and it's ready for another dip.

One of the worst inks thus far has been Noodler's Eternal Brown. Even the Gladiator nib writes very wet with this ink, though it's usable. The best ink for dip pens that I've found so far is. . . (are you ready for this?). . . Baystate Blue! Even the Oval Point nib is usable (albeit pretty wet) with Baystate Blue, and it works quite well in most others. It's just superb with the 455 Gladiator nib: it writes about EF and is good for three full lines of text on a dip.

I'm not sure what quality of inks makes them work better or worse, but I can guess: a combination of viscosity and ability to "wet" the metal rather than bead and run off it.

I'm just barely getting started in this learning process, and I have a limited selection of inks (mostly Noodlers) to try. . . Can anyone offer suggestions of what inks work well in dip pens?

• Replies 31
  • Created