Greetings from Big Spring Spring, Texas

JLiggett

I just signed up on this board, and have barely started exploring it. I have been accumulating (I can't really say collecting as there is very little in the way of a plan or a focus), pens fairly regularly for about 8 years now.

My day job is as an Episcopal Priest in Big Spring. I also teach a couple of Philosophy classes at the local community college. I have been using fountain pens, off and on, for over 40 years and just like the darned things. Which is sort of a shame, since most of my writing is done on a keyboard. My other hobby is learning more about WordPerfect, so I guess I am sort of a nitch market holdout.

I accumule both modern and vintage pens, nothing really high-end, but I have passed the Esterbrook and Harley Davidson stage. It's been a while since I bought a pen, and I am starting to look around for something I don't have that is sort of interesting (my only real accumulating criterion). It's been a year since I've been to a show (Boston, 05) and I hope I can make another in a year or so. (A son in college limits my options.)

I probably won't be terribley active here, but it's great to have found you all, and I look forward to learning stuff.

Jim Liggett

Jim Liggett

Don't ever get mad at somebody who know more'n you do. It ain't their fault.

From "Don't Squat With Yer Spurs On"

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• southpaw

• Ruaidhri

• robertaia

• BMWRT

Jim -

As a Word Perfect utilizing priest, you must indeed be a market of one!

If you're looking for interesting, why not consider a Sheaffer Snorkel with a "cylindrical" nib? They're arguably the most interesting pens ever made - the most advanced, unique and complex filler system, combined with a unique nib design - write superbly, and don't have to cost much. (Just allow a few extra bucks for servicing when you buy the pen - most people skip it.)