Opinions on Waterman Expert wanted

stephen82

I'm interested in opinions on the Waterman Expert fountain pen, specifically a Waterman Expert Urban Brown model shown on the fountainpenhospital.com Website, which it is noted as a "New" model/color...

I am very new to fountain pens. I purchased a couple Lamy Safari's a week or so ago and once I wrote with them I was hooked. Now I have four Safari's (two fine and two med) and four bottles of ink.

I have always liked pens and pencils. My collection includes a couple Waterman ball points and a Mont Blanc ball point -- and so I would like to have at least one higher-end fountain pen. Higher end for me is $125 or less. The model I noted above really appleals to me.

So before I tell my wife that that pen would make a nice birthday present next month, I would like to hear what others think about the Waterman Expert -- just so I can make (or have my wife make) an informed, well thought out purchase.

Thanks,

Steve

Edited by stephen82

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• ARRI

• stephen82

• 110Mike

• ramshacklemann

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

One of my favourite pens, and one of the best buys there is, IMHO. I´ve got three, red, black and blue, with M and B nibs. Excellent fit and finish, vintage styling, very good flow, smooth nib. THe pen is rather big and medium- to heavy-weight (which I like). I have never read anything against it in this forum. I´m on the lookout for a pencil that matches one of the pens I have...

regards,

Rique

I am new to FP's also, the Expert was my first upper end pen also. I got the fine point and the nib has a bit of flex and is very smooth. I haven't had any issues with any of my Watermans (Charleston, Expert and Phileas). Good buys in my book.

Overachieving Underachiever

All posts edited by my dog