Cleaning demonstrators

Dappy

I wonder if anyone has had the experience of ink gathering in the Pelikan 205 barrel where the nib screws in? I'm kind of new to demonstrators and find it very irksome to be unable to clean the barrel thoroughly.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Rabbit

• buffalowings

• Dappy

• thekraitmusic

Can you unscrew the nib and clean it with a cotton swab/Q-tip? Dip the swab in water, and if that doesn't work, maybe try some ammonia diluted with water (1:10). Please note that I do not own this pen and therefore am not 100% sure if ammonia is safe to use on the material from which it is made. It's pretty safe on most modern pens, but there are some materials that it could harm. Maybe someone here can verify if it's OK on a Pelikan 205.... (edit to add: I actually didn't realize that I was reading the Pelikan forum until just now... I KNOW someone can verify it in here! :))

--Stephen

Edited by Rabbit

I think every M205 owner (including me) has the same 'problem'. The question is whether it's really a problem or not. Stephen's advice might be useful. I've tried dish cleaner with water and cleaned it off a bit but I've never managed to clean it all. When you switch to inks of different colors or tones the residue may be annoying. But after one or two fill-ins the color 'in' the section changes into the one 'in' the reservoir. It seems to add to the character of the pen. So don't mind it, I'd say.

Cogitamus non ideam sed per ideam.

I think every M205 owner (including me) has the same 'problem'.

yes, it is :happyberet:

Today in hands:

Stipula Etruria Nuda LE

Vistonti Van Gogh crystal

Stipula Novecento Cromo LE

Stipula Giardino di Boboli LE

Parker 75 Cisele Vermeil

Aurora 88 big

Pelikan M1000

Dollar clear barrel

Sailor 1911 ProGear demo

Molteni Cilicia LE

Bexley Stradivari LE